In Beacon, a robot belongs to a single team. There are times when you want to move your robot to a different team or possibly deactivate your robot completely. This article will guide you through the process and implications of each action.

Moving Robots Between Teams

If you are an administrator for your organization or the team manager, you can move a robot to another team within your organization. This action will keep all of the parts, part history, and playlist information with the robot even after it moves to its new team.

Navigate to the robot, the configure tab for that robot, and the "Robot info" for the robot you want on a different team. Click the team field and select a different team. Note, you will only see teams where you can create robots, unless you are an administrator. Select "Update" and confirm the move to the new team.

Robot info to manage a robot

Robot details - Select team to choose a new team

Deactivating a Robot

There are certain scenarios where you need to deactivate a robot. This action will inactivate your robots within the Beacon application and it will de-provision the real robots from the Beacon platform. This means the robots will once again show a registration code on the installation tab so that it can be claimed again within your organization or another organization.

Navigate to the robot, the configure tab for that robot, and the "Robot info" for the robot you want to deactivate. Select the Deactivate Robot button and confirm the action.

Robot info to manage a robot

Robot details - Deactivate robot

Reactivating a Robot

Reactivating a robot is a process that connects an existing, inactive robot to a real robot. This process is different than creating a new robot in that any previously created parts, part history, and playlist information will be associated with the new, real robot. This process is helpful if you need to change real robots. Note that only an inactive robot can be reactivated.

Navigate to the robot, the configure tab for that robot, and the "Robot info" for the robot you want to deactivate. Select the Reactivate Robot button and input the registration code to reactivate.

Robot info to manage a robot

Did this answer your question?